BCSSA Officials Development Committee Bulletin 2013-2014 August 2013

BCSSA - ODC members:

Stuart Gibbs, ODC Chair, Referee 4ST Southern BC region Wim Kok, Vice Chair Referee 4LT Northern BC region George Moore, Starter 4 Southern BC region Candice Clouthier, Starter 3B Northern BC region



Please contact BCSSA ODC at: officials.development.committe@gmail.com

In this addition:

Upgrades for the 2013-2014 season and the Ritha Johnson Official of the Year award.

BCSSA ODC Officials Upgrades for 2013-2014 Season:

New Level 1 Officials

Claudette McDowell	Heat Box Steward (clerk)	Ft St John
Kathryn Stickel	Heat Box Steward (clerk)	Ft St John
Tony Martins	Timer	Ft St John
Jo-Anne Rondeau	Timer	Ft St John
Lisa Quigley	Meet Coordinator	Ft St John
Tina Peters	Recorder	Ft St John
Cina Wales- Green	Timer	Ft St John
Christina Acton	Meet Coordinator	Kelowna
Kauri Taylor-Cook	Timer	Dawson Creek
Kerry Bennett	Timer, Lap Counter, Place Judge, Track Steward	Kelowna
Kimberly Chizawsky	Recorder	Matsqui
Carmella Winiandy	Timer	Dawson Creek
Nicola Brown	Meet Coordinator	Dawson Creek
Sarah Leach	Heat Box Steward (clerk)	Ft St James
Rachael Crook	Heat Box Steward (clerk)	Ft St James
Robyn Kempers	Heat Box Steward (clerk)	Sardis
Viktoriia Davydenko	Place Judge	Mission
Alana Rowan	Place Judge	Kamloops
Samantha Gibbs	Referee	Matsqui
Don Mah	Lap Counter	Richmond
Mae Shupe	Recorder	Ridge Meadows

Carol Dennison	Timer	Prince George
Rylan Gaudet	Track Steward	Prince George
Ariadne Hiller	Place Judge	Prince George
Carolina Hiller	Heat Box Steward (Clerk)	Prince George
Lucas Hiller	Track Steward	Prince George
Kathy Lewis	Timer	Prince George
Madison Piling	Lap Counter	Prince George
Stephen Rader	Heat Box Steward (Clerk)	Prince George
Martha Stark	Timer	Prince George
Callie Swan	Heat Box Steward (Clerk)	Prince George
Morgan Swan	Track Steward	Prince George
Robert Thew	Place Judge	Prince George
Elena Thomas	Place Judge	Prince George

Provincial Level 2 Officials

Adrian Telizyn	Starter Level II	Ft St John
Darren Guliov	Track Steward Level II	Ft St John
Bill Shi	Lap Counter Level II	Ridge Meadows
Joanne Benoit-Lindsay	Place Judge Level II	Ridge Meadows
Stephen Abbott	Announcer Level II	Ridge Meadows
Barb Vogl	Meet Coordinator Level II	Burnaby
Russ Mcdonald	Track Steward Level II	Ft St James
Derrick Ross	Track Steward Level II	Mission
Chris Budac	Timer Level II	Prince George
Chris White	Timer Level II	Prince George

SSC Level 3 Officials

Donna Bilous	Referee 3A	Matsqui
Eric Villeneuve	Announcer Level 3	Kamloops
Mike Hagen	Lap Counter Level 3	Burnaby

Congratulations to you ALL.

BCSSA Certified Officials List

ODC does their best to make sure that the official's list is up to date on the website. If you notice an error or incorrect level please e-mail BCSSA ODC so we can help correct the issue. If you notice that your name was not on the above list and yet you submitted an application for an upgrade please e-mail ODC for an explanation.

Ritha Johnson Official of the Year Award

Doug Wright was the official of the year for the 2011-2012 season.

Stuart Gibbs was the official of the year for the 2012-2013 season. Stuart also received the SSC Rene Marleau award for any SSC official who has demonstrated meaningful, long term involvement with a club, region, branch, or the national association. Eligibility is also based on the volunteer doing an outstanding job of officiating at speed skating meets.

Congratulations to both officials.

Announcements:

The website has been redesigned to allow easier retrieval of all official's forms. Online forms and other documents are in place to make upgrading easier. http://www.speed-skating.bc.ca/officials/officials-resources/

For the 2013-2014 season and in keeping with BCSSA ODC's practice of standardizing protocols across Canada, the 1st assistant or referee designate at any ST event in BC will blow the whistle when all competitors have crossed the finish line or when the referee has deemed that the race is finished or has been completed.

There have been several memos this year in regards to new interpretation of ISU please check on the website under: members only/ Camps, Competitions & Clinics Community/New Rules

If you have any question or concerns please e-mail BCSSA ODC: officials.development.committe@gmail.com